The Alwych Book: The perfect soft cover, the perfect notebook?

THIS POST HAS BEEN MOVED TO OUR NEW SITE HERE!

61 responses to “The Alwych Book: The perfect soft cover, the perfect notebook?

  1. The notebook seems great, but the massive gold lettering on the cover would put me off a fair bit…

  2. I have to admit I’ve never seen or heard of these before and I’ve visited a fair number of stationery stores in London over the years.

    I’ll see if I stumble across any the next time I’m in town, but wouldn’t actually buy one due to the gold embossing, just not my thing.

    – Neil.

  3. Evidently, the Alwych book is a favorite of birders in the UK. In fact, the only other means I know of ordering one is from the Waxwings Natural History Books web site:

    http://www.waxwings.co.uk/index.php

    The Alwych web site hasn’t been updated in years, it seems to me (nor have the books, which is a good thing). The “Super Alwych” they refer to may be the large-sized, hardcover edition that was released some time ago. It’s about the same dimensions as a U. S. composition book, has 240 pages of the off-white paper, same “all weather cover” and retro graphics (which I love and hope they never do away with). Evidently its purpose is to provide a larger, more permanent home for one’s field notes. I have one (which I got from Waxwings) and think it’s a great general-purpose journal. I want to get my hands on one of these pocket versions though, so thanks for the thorough review.

  4. Steve –

    Thanks for the info. Good to know that the notebook can stand up to all the rigors of bird watching! I agree with you – there’s something distinctly UK-ish about the notebook, a bit prim and proper, but more retro than snooty. I hope they don’t change it either.

    Nick, Black Cover

  5. Had never heard of them, despite living just along the road from the printer’s!

    That style of blank space at the top of the page is standard in the UK — it’s used for titles/dates/indexing etc.

  6. Fantastic review and commentary, thanks!!!

  7. I agree with you that the Moleskine “brand aficionado” thing can get a little bit out of hand. It took me a couple of years to get past being a snob about it and it’s always the newer users giving the notebook magical properties and seeing themselves as a part of a literary tradition. You might note that there are other gimmicks in the insert. As in, if you don’t rush out and buy lots of notebooks, you might run out of them like Bruce Chatwin did…It’s fun to believe in a little, it’s also stupid in the end.

    But I still think the Moleskine notebook–if it’s not the best ever designed, which I believe it might be, it would be in the top 3. I do like that it lies flat, I like that the cover can take a beating, I don’t use the back pocket either and I rip out the bookmarks first day. But it’s well designed, nearly perfect in most proportions, somehow sleek and somehow very inexpensive at the chain bookstore. Vincent Van Gogh and Hemingway might very well use them if they were alive today. I KNOW they would have messy handwriting and scratchouts and 2nd drafts and anyone who doesn’t think so is unfamiliar with the writing process.

  8. Michael Palin uses them.

  9. I was thinking earlier. We’ve all been walking around very conceited about our notebooks for a half dozen years. How are you going to continue to see yourself as the avante guard when there are millions of customers? These are, after all, mass-produced products…

  10. I bought a stack of these after reading this excellent blog.

    They’re robust, easy to carry, pleasant to write upon. I enjoy using them more than Moleskines as I treat them as notebooks, rather than as repositories for Great Thoughts.

    On the downside, they’re not as robust as Moleskines, and will acquire a more battered patina over time.

    Having got my notebooks, I realised I actually already had a vintage Alwych from some fifteen years ago. The vintage one doesn’t have the gold logo on the front, and has a finer-grained faux leather cover, but is otherwise the same.

    This vintage notebook has survived several moves and a trip or two to the Alps and is still in good condition.

    Recommended.

  11. Amazon.com now caries Alwych books. No overseas shipping charges.

  12. I adore that website layout . How was it made. Its very cool.

  13. The structure for your site is a little bit off in Epiphany. Nevertheless I like your web site. I may have to install a normal web browser just to enjoy it.

  14. While I really like this publish, I think there was an punctuational error close towards the finish from the third paragraph.

  15. As soon as I originally left a comment I clicked on the Notify me whenever new comments are added checkbox and currently each and every time a comment is added I receive four emails with the same comment.

  16. Even though I truly like this post, I believe there was an punctuational error shut to the finish of your third paragraph.

  17. As soon as I originally left a comment I clicked on the Notify me whenever new comments are added checkbox and currently each time a remark is added I receive 4 emails with the identical comment.

  18. Wanted to drop a remark and let you know your Rss feed isnt functioning today. I tried adding it to my Google reader account and got nothing.

  19. This is really a amazing weblog, would you be interested in making time for an interview about just how you created it? If so e-mail myself!

  20. Nice post ! Thanks for, visiting my blog page mate. Ill email you soon. I didnt realise that!

  21. Could you email me with any hints & tips on how you made your website look this cool , I would be appreciative.

  22. I was basically wanting to know if you ever considered adjusting the layout of your web site? Its well written; I love what you have got to say. But maybe you could add a little more in the way of content so people might connect with it better. Youve got a great deal of text for only having one or two photographs. Maybe you could space it out better?

  23. As soon as I at first commented I clicked the Notify me when new comments are added checkbox and now each and every time a remark is added I get four emails with the same comment.

  24. Hey, I just hopped over to your web page using StumbleUpon. Not somthing I would usually read, but I appreciated your thoughts none the less. Thank you for creating something worthy of browsing.

  25. This is often a wonderful website, would you be interested in working on an interview concerning just how you produced it? If so e-mail me personally!

  26. buy leather wallets

    I Am Going To have to come back again when my course load lets up – nonetheless I am getting your Rss feed so i could read your blog offline. Thanks.

  27. This blog has got some really helpful info on it! Thanks for informing me.

  28. How do you make a blog look this cool. Email me if you get the chance and share your wisdom. Id be thankful.

  29. Do youve a spam problem on this website; I also am a blogger, and I was wondering your scenario; we have developed some good methods and were looking to exchange options with other individuals, be sure to fire me an e-mail if interested.

  30. buy fridge freezer

    Almost all of the commentary on this particular blog page dont make sense.

  31. I have got one suggestion for your website. It seems like right now there are a number of cascading stylesheet troubles while opening a selection of web pages within google chrome as well as safari. It is functioning alright in internet explorer. Possibly you can double check that.

  32. Hi, I just hopped over to your webpage via StumbleUpon. Not somthing I would normally browse, but I enjoyed your thoughts none the less. Thank you for creating some thing worth reading.

  33. I Am Going To have to come back again whenever my course load lets up – nonetheless I am taking your Feed so i can read your site offline. Cheers.

  34. Jesus Christ theres lots of spammy comments on this website. Have you ever thought about attempting to eliminate them or installing a extension?

  35. This is a wonderful weblog, could you be interested in going through an interview regarding just how you created it? If so e-mail me personally!

  36. The structure for the website is a little bit off in Epiphany. Even So I like your blog. I may need to install a normal browser just to enjoy it.

  37. Whenever I originally commented I clicked the Notify me any time new comments are added checkbox and currently each time a comment is added I receive 4 messages with the same comment.

  38. I have got one idea for your web site. It appears like there are a couple of cascading stylesheet issues while opening a number of webpages within google chrome as well as opera. It is functioning okay in internet explorer. Probably you can double check this.

  39. Could you email me with a few hints about how you made this blog look this cool , I would be thankful.

  40. I adore this blog site layout ! How do you make it? It is really nice.

  41. I tried taking a look at your web site on my cellphone and the structure does not seem to be correct. Might want to check it out on WAP as well as it seems most cell phone layouts are not really working with your web page.

  42. This blog has got some very helpful info on it! Thank you for helping me.

  43. Good Stuff, do you have a flickr profile?

  44. Hi, I just hopped over to your web site through StumbleUpon. Not somthing I might generally browse, but I appreciated your views none the less. Thanks for making some thing worthy of reading through.

  45. Re: Whomever produced the comment that this was a great web site genuinely needs to have their brain evaluated.

  46. Hey, I just hopped over to your site thru StumbleUpon. Not somthing I would normally read, but I liked your views none the less. Thank you for making some thing worth reading through.

  47. Awesome post . Thanks for, visiting this blog page man. I shall message you some time. I did not realise that.

  48. I have got one recommendation for your web page. It seems like at this time there are a couple of cascading stylesheet issues when opening a number of web pages within google chrome as well as internet explorer. It is running fine in internet explorer. Possibly you can double check this.

  49. Whenever I originally commented I clicked on the Notify me when new comments are added checkbox and now each time a remark is added I receive four emails with the same comment.

  50. How did you make a site look this cool. Email me if you get the chance and share your wisdom. !

  51. I feel one of your advertisements initiated my internet browser to resize, you might well want to place that on your blacklist.

  52. Is it alright to put part of this in my personal weblog if I post a reference to this site?

  53. Nice post . Cheers for, commenting on this blog man. Ill email you again! I didnt know that.

  54. If you could message me with any tips about how you made your site look this awesome, I would be appreciative.

  55. Re: Whomever created the statement that this was a great site really needs to possess their head inspected.

  56. This site has lots of very helpful info on it. Cheers for sharing it with me.

  57. Even though I genuinely like this publish, I think there was an spelling error close towards the end with the third sentence.

  58. An interesting blog post there mate . Thanks for that !

  59. An cool post right there mate . Thanks for posting !

  60. Awesome post ! Thanks for, writing on this blog page dude! I will message you again. I didnt realise that!

  61. This piece of writing will help the internet users for creating new web site or even a weblog from start to
    end.

Leave a Reply

